Anarhichadidae Anarrhichthys ocellatus

Wolf Eel

Eye-spotted Without-ridge-fish Without-ridge

Sund Rock South Wall Full Video


Sund Rock South Wall Full Video


The wolffish (or wolfeel, although they are not true eels), also known as sea wolves, are a family, Anarhichadidae, of perciform fish. There are three types of wolffish: the spotted Wolffish, the Atlantic Wolffish, and the Northern Atlantic Wolffish. They are native to cold waters of the northern Atlantic and Pacific oceans, where they live on the continental shelf and slope, to depths of about 600 metres (2,000 feet; 330 fathoms). They are bottom-feeders, eating hard-shelled invertebrates such as clams, echinoderms, and crustaceans, which they crush with their strong canine and molar teeth. The longest species, Anarrhichthys ocellatus, grows to more than 2 m (6 ft 7 in) in length.

Anarhichadidae. Retrieved November, 05 2021, from

The wolf eel (Anarrhichthys ocellatus) is a species of wolffish (Anarhichadidae) from the North Pacific. It is monotypic within the genus Anarrhichthys and one of only two genera in the family, the other being Anarhichas.

Anarrhichthys ocellatus. Retrieved November, 05 2021, from